Skip to content

Oxford Choral Classics: European Sacred Music

Sold out
SKU 9780193436954
Availability: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Out of stock

Notify me when back in stock

"European Sacred Music" is a collection of over 50 of the finest examples of sacred choral music from continental Europe, ranging from the sixteenth to twentieth centuries. John Rutter has prepared completely new editions of all the pre-twentieth-century items, going back to the earliest and most reliable manuscript or printed sources. New English singing translations are provided for most pieces, and playable keyboard reductions. Orchestrations are available for hire for the eight accompanied items (Bach: "O Jesu Christ", "meins Lebens Licht"; Buxtehude: "Magnificat"; Faure: "Cantique de Jean Racine"; Franck: "Panis angelicus"; Gabrieli: "Jubilate Deo"; Mendelssohn: "Verleih uns Frieden"; Monteverdi: "Beatus vir"; Mozart: "Ave verum Corpus"). Some items from this volume are available separately as leaflets in the "Oxford Choral Classics Octavo" series.